stranger-things-noah-scnapp-600x335

(Source: collider.com)

If I ever said that Stranger Things was a cross between a Stephen King novel and The Goonies, then I think it’s fair to say that Joyce’s house is like a cross between Alien and the mall scene in the movie Elf. In episode three of Stranger Things, we saw the fantastic continue to abound through both Eleven and Will, albeit off-screen.

It seems that Joyce found a way to communicate with her son, and while she’s the one person that has found a legitimate way of communication with the missing child, everyone else thinks she has lost the plot. You know, I had never imagined a role like this for Winona Ryder before and I’m curious as to whether her role will expand beyond the distraught mother. Netflix had been advertising her heavily, which makes sense. She has star power and, although this was a decade later, she was the face of the 90’s. Though she always had that mysterious appeal which definitely gels with the vibe of this show. Either way, I’m looking forward to seeing how her character changes now that the sheriff has found Will’s body.

That leads me to my next thought. Do I think Will is dead? Of course not. On any other show, I would have scowled, hugged my pillow and whined like my neighbor’s dog on the fourth of July. However, we are talking about a show with a monster that can walk through walls and a girl who can move things with her mind. I don’t think Will’s dead. I think that sort of discovery is way too anti-climactic and predictable for a show like this.

However, that doesn’t mean that I didn’t enjoy the sequence at the end when the gang found Will’s body in the lake. I found it absolutely exquisite, especially with Peter Gabriel’s Heroes playing in the background as we followed the night of tragedy through each character’s eyes. That was definitely the highlight of the episode, and was just such a delightful touch to the continuing 80’s atmosphere.

Anyway, I can’t wait to plow through the rest of the episodes. Until then, happy watching!